English Faculty Members recognized for Distinguished Teaching

Four Princeton University faculty members received President's Awards for Distinguished Teaching at Commencement ceremonies Tuesday, June 3. 

They are: Simon Gikandi, the Robert Schirmer Professor of English; Claire Gmachl, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Electrical Engineering; Anthony Grafton, the Henry Putnam University Professor of History; and Robert Sandberg, lecturer in English, theater and the Lewis Center for the Arts

The awards were established in 1991 through a gift by Princeton alumni Lloyd Cotsen of the Class of 1950 and John Sherrerd of the Class of 1952 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching by Princeton faculty members. Each winner receives a cash prize of $5,000, and his or her department receives $3,000 for the purchase of new books. 

A committee of faculty, undergraduate and graduate students, and academic administrators selected the winners from nominations by students, faculty colleagues and alumni.


Read the full story from the Office of Communications here.